Charity Governance Awards

Home > Our Work > Charity Governance Awards > About CGA

About CGA

About CGA

The Charity Governance Awards (CGA) recognises charities that have adopted the highest standards of governance. An initiative of the Charity Council, the CGA aims to promote good governance in the charity sector by acknowledging the excellent work of charities, while inspiring others to emulate their best practices.

To recognise charities with good disclosure practices, the Charity Council has also introduced the inaugural Charity Transparency Awards in 2016. This enabled the awards to be more inclusive but also emphasises that transparency and good disclosure practices are important pillars of good governance.

The process will be the same annually. All charities that meet the qualifying standards in disclosure under the Charity Transparency Framework will receive the Charity Transparency Awards. They will also be eligible for the Charity Governance Awards assessment.

For 2020, there will be a hiatus for the Charity Transparency and Governance Awards.


Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for the new Charity Transparency Awards and participate in the CGA Assessment, organisations must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a registered charity and/or an IPC in Singapore for at least three years;
  • Have submitted their annual reports, financial statements and Governance Evaluation Checklists (GEC) to the Office of Commissioner of Charities/Sector Administrators for the two immediate preceding financial years, with the later year's submission being an on time submission (i.e. 6 months from the end of the charity's financial year);
  • Have gross annual receipts of not less than $50,000 in the immediate preceding financial year;
  • Have complied with the Code of Governance for Charities and IPCs based on its latest submitted GEC;
  • Not be a main category winner of CGA in the last three years; and
  • Be a potential Charity Transparency Award Winner in the year of participation.

CGA Assessment Process

Participating in the CGA process is rewarding and of enormous value as the process is a rigorous one. It enables your organisation to assess its current state, identify opportunities for improvement and recognise areas of success and strength. The following provides an overview of the CGA process:

Independent Assessment

EY will be the independent assessor for Stage 1, and facilitate the the entire CGA assessment process.


CGA Assessment Guide

The Charity Council has introduced a revised Assessment Questionnaire to encourage organisations to self-analyse their governance processes based on the Code of Governance for Charities and IPCs. This serves as a benchmark for comparison with best practices for the sector.

This CGA Assessment Guide is co-developed with EY and issued by the Charity Council. Please click here to download the CGA Assessment Guide.

Please download the sample of the Assessment Questionnaire templates for Large/Medium charities here.

As part of the refinement process, to encourage small charities to participate in the Charity Governance Awards, a simplified CGA Assessment Questionnaire Checklist was developed. Please click here to download the sample of the Assessment Questionnaire Checklist for Small charities

Last Updated: 10 March 2017